IS MY NAME WRITTEN THERE?

This was one of my late grandma’s favorite hymns. Recent events have led me to reflect on this very important question: “Is my name written in the Book of Life?”  

I just realized it’s been three years since she went home to be with the Lord. I miss you Lola Melan. Till we meet again.

Revelation 21:22-27

22I did not see a temple in the city, because the Lord God Almighty and the Lamb are its temple. 23The city does not need the sun or the moon to shine on it, for the glory of God gives it light, and the Lamb is its lamp. 24The nations will walk by its light, and the kings of the earth will bring their splendor into it. 25On no day will its gates ever be shut, for there will be no night there. 26The glory and honor of the nations will be brought into it. 27Nothing impure will ever enter it, nor will anyone who does what is shameful or deceitful, but only those whose names are written in the LAMB’S BOOK OF LIFE.”

SONG TITLE: IS MY NAME WRITTEN THERE

Words: Mary A. Kidder, 1876.

Music: Frank M. Da­vis, Ju­ly 1876, while Da­vis was in Burr Oak, Mi­chi­gan

Lord, I care not for riches, neither silver nor gold;
I would make sure of Heaven, I would enter the fold.
In the book of Thy kingdom, with its pages so fair,
Tell me, Jesus, my Savior, is my name written there?

Refrain

Is my name written there,
On the page white and fair?
In the book of Thy kingdom,
Is my name written there?

Lord, my sins they are many, like the sands of the sea,
But Thy blood, O my Savior, is sufficient for me;
For Thy promise is written, in bright letters that glow,
“Though your sins be as scarlet, I will make them like snow.”

Refrain

Oh! that beautiful city, with its mansions of light,
With its glorified beings, in pure garments of white;
Where no evil thing cometh to despoil what is fair;
Where the angels are watching, yes, my name’s written there.

Refrain


