“Do not keep talking so proudly or let your mouth speak such arrogance, for the Lord is a God who knows, and by him deeds are weighed.” -1 Samuel 2:3

God reminded me about my past sins as a student, and how I would even boast about them. It was as if I deserved applause for getting away with accomplishing a bachelor’s degree the “smart” way – sleeping through the whole sem and still passing the class, copying my way thru exams, plagiarizing books and theses to manufacture my own thesis, and tons of other stuff. I had no integrity and the Lord has brought my deeds to light. So what remains is what I do with the knowledge of that sin now. Do I go to my school and tell them to strip me off of my degrees? But I have been cheating and lying, albeit in much smaller ways, even from my grade school days. Do I go to them to? For I have always crammed for exams and only remembered the lessons enough to get good grades on my report card. But ask me now about the same concepts and theories and I remember very little. How could anyone expect anything more? I wouldn’t have remembered those lessons even maybe after a month after the school exams had passed. It was all about accomplishing the task in whatever way works; never about actually learning and keeping my integrity. And especially not about doing my best because I wanted to honor God with what He has blessed me with.

Now, God is telling me, am I training my child to do the same by the way I homeschool her? O God forbid! Help me Lord! Do not let me fail my child by instilling in her the same values of doing things for the wrong reasons, whether it is to simply pass the subjects (because failing would have been shameful) or get good grades (so that I may boast)! Help me Lord to train our children always do their best for the glory of God alone!

May these words always guide our ways,

“So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”- 1 Corinthians 10:31

In the mighty name of Jesus, this I pray!

